jump to navigation

2017 LA County Fair Entry #1 May 17, 2017

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have finished my LA Co Fair entries for this year’s competition.  I will be photographing and putting them here for you to see.  Here is the first one, The Golden Dreamcatcher.

dreamcatcher

I used my “Dreamcatcher” pattern, which is a free form style of knitting motifs and adding each different one as you go along.

I used five different yarns, some combined, some solo, to get the effect I wanted.  They were: 1) a gold ribbon with gray/brown edge yarn, “Luna” from Silk City Yarns, mixed with a metallic gold boucle with slubs of gray and rust for the inner circle; 2) the gold “Luna” with a skinny gold metallic for the Sunray section; 3) a brown wrapped in gold with “nuggets” from Universal Yarns called “Elite” for the rick-rack trim; and 4) a brown/gold composite yarn from Lucci called “Paris” along with the skinny gold metallic yarn for the bottom trim.

It probably looks like it should be in a Viking movie as it has the look of being a piece of armor, but I assure you it is only a top to be worn over a black turtleneck and pants.

This is one of my patterns for sale on my Etsy shop, so if you want to try it, you can get it there.

Comments»

1. Mary Still - May 17, 2017

How beautiful! I hope you win a Blue Ribbon for this!!!

myblueheavenknits - May 17, 2017

Thanks Mary!!


Leave a Reply

