jump to navigation

Blue Throated Goldentail Hummingbird February 25, 2017

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

Image result for blue throated goldentail

A new bird at my feeder this year in the mountains of Orosi, Costa Rica, the blue throated goldentail is also identified by his coral beak with a black tip.  Very colorful.  I couldn’t get a good picture, so I got a couple from the web.  He is competing for the nectar in my feeder with my other hummingbirds, the Rufous Tail and several male and one female Green-Breasted Mango.  That only gives me a fleeting second to get a picture, as he gets chased away by the others.  As all my pics were blurry, I had to settle for someone else’s photos.  I spied his blue throat and lighter coloring first and noticed he was different from my other hummingbirds, so I got the binoculars out to get finer details.  All these birds are spectacular and it is a joy to watch them from my knitting chair in our great room.  Plus, doesn’t he just give you some ideas for interesting colorways to use in your creative crafts?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

