jump to navigation

Working On Braided Cable Patterns July 5, 2015

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have been working on two new patterns using the Braided Cable technique.  I will be demonstrating this technique at Newton’s Fall Fiber Festival, October 10-11, 2015, so save the date (see http://www.newtons.com).  In preparation, I will have the new patterns ready for you.  One will be the Braided Cable Tunic in sizes Small-Medium, Large-X-Large and 1X-2X all in two versions, sleeves and sleeveless.  The other new pattern will be several accessories (hat, wristlets, Angel Halo shawl and purse).  I have been using several different yarns, making the various sizes and items, so I can quote them in the pattern, both recommended and not-recommended.  Additionally, I have finished the items that I will be taking for competition in the Los Angeles County Fair and the Orange County Fair.  I know I haven’t posted in a while, so I want to catch you up with all that I have been doing.  I haven’t dropped off the planet, but have been knitting away and creating in my studio.  Here are the pictures of my LA County Fair items, starting with a gorgeous black and gold Braided Tunic, in my Size, 1X-2X (tunic yarn is Silk City Stardust with a 2/20 in black and Cabled section done in a yarn I spun myself from several strands of threadlike yarns in black and metallic gold:

Black and Gold Braided Cable Tunic

Then, I am entering this black ruffled vest, kinda like a corset, Size Small, done on a standard machine, Singer 700 with Lace Carriage in 1 strand of a 2/20 black acrylic.  Notice the antique brass eyelets, hand set with hammer and die:

Black Ruffled Vest Front

And finally, my Braided Cable Hat, in a yarn I spun myself from several ends of yarn, in the Medium Size for a Lady:

Braided Cable Hat

Now, here is a Work In Progress, only needing the perfect buttons to be sewn on, in Size Lg/XLg, and done in a double strand of “Twinkle” red and gold metallic:

Red and Gold Braided Cable Tunic

And here is the Sleeveless version in size Small/Medium using Newton’s new Cable Cotton which is a blend of cotton and rayon, but I also added a strand of a leaf green 2/20 acrylic:

Sleeveless Braided Cable Tunic

As a designer, I am in my heaven when I can learn a new technique, use it to create some new and different looks and then share them with my students.  I hope to see you at Newton’s Seminar.

Comments»

1. Chris - July 5, 2015

Beautiful work!

myblueheavenknits - July 5, 2015

Thank you!!


Leave a Reply

