jump to navigation

New – The Braided Cable Sweater May 31, 2015

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

I got inspired by Dwaine Wilson from the UK (?) when I viewed his YouTube video on how to do these braided cables.  I went right to work to translate it into a design for a new sweater.  It was tricky since the cables are braided at the very end of the project and it is a total mystery if it will fit as it looks huge before braiding, but the braiding does take up a lot of inches.  Then I was worried that it was taking up too much and I couldn’t get it over my head.  But it all worked out nicely in the end.  I don’t know if I can put this pattern out as it is really hard to explain.  I sewed on three buttons for accent on the left shoulder – you can hardly see them in the picture, but they are there to finish off the last braided cable.

Cozumel

I got the yarn from Creeksoon on Ebay, took about 625gms of Cozumel, a heavyweight worsted.  Yes, it did come out a little heavy, so I will do another with a light DK weight yarn.  I like her yarns as they are similar to the ones I make, so I know how to handle the many strands.  Super Fun!!

Comments»

1. Mary Still - May 31, 2015

This is just gorgeous! Yes, please create a pattern!

myblueheavenknits - May 31, 2015

Hey there, Mary! Are you on the ocean or land-lubbing it? I will have to do several of these just to get it straight in my own mind first. Then there is the “sizes” issue – UGH!! I can do sweaters for myself, but then sizing them down is altogether a nightmare. Maybe in a year or two……

2. Mary - May 31, 2015

Here’s a thought–How about just doing the braided cable as a detachable cowl that goes with a matching ultra simple pullover? Would make sizing easier and you could design it for different weights of yarn.
P.S. Check out KnitLabo on Youtube–Japanese MK techniques very clearly shown, no sound.

myblueheavenknits - May 31, 2015

Yes, I think I will try a separate cowl, maybe with a light an airy brushed acrylic – I have the perfect yarn…..


Leave a Reply

