jump to navigation

Fabulous Day At Signatures Runway Fashion Show May 4, 2015

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

We had our Spring Signatures runway fashion show on 2 May and I was crazy mad knitting all the pieces I wanted to show. I machine knit this top from my Cutie Pie pattern and developed a new skirt pattern using only 3 panels so the wearer would not have a seam line to add to her hips on both sides. Great drapy effect. I hand knit and fringed the shawl using about 20 different high-end yarns. My model rocked the outfit on the runway. Just had to share a couple of other photos also. I used an Ice “Alara” yarn, which is 50% Cotton and 50% Acrylic. It comes in so many wonderful colors! It gives a great drape and bloomed a little under steaming so the tops and skirts I made out of them were opaque. I did this Red and a Beige set as a long skirt combo at 32″, a Black one as a shorter 25″ skirt, and then a plus size one in Navy long skirt combo for me. I will probably do the pattern when I get a chance. Knits always look better on a live model than hanging sadly on a hanger. I want to encourage everyone that knitting is not just for hats, scarves and baby blankets, but everything you wear can be a comfy knit when you explore the vast capabilities of your machine. Unlock your creative juices and let it flow!!

Red Runway

Beige Set

Black Set

Capris

Linen

Rhapsody

Comments»

1. Chris M - May 4, 2015

Love your work! The outfits look wonderful on the models.

myblueheavenknits - May 4, 2015

Thank you so much!

2. die Strickschmiede - May 5, 2015

Your words are so true: knitters, knit more wearable things!
Your pictures and designs are great and show the beauty of the knitwear.
Honestly: I come along tons of hats and scarves while traveling the internet and they are beautiful – don´t get me wrong.
But if one´s able to knit it in that small size, why not try a jacket, a skirt or even a dress?
There are more occasions to wear a cardi or a skirt, than a scarf (which disappears most of the times in one of the arms of the jacket, when taking the jacket off).
Thank you for pointing that out 🙂


Leave a Reply

