jump to navigation

Just Back From Costa Rica February 19, 2014

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

I planned to be there another month, but a family medical emergency has me back home now.

I got a new camera, my old one finally gave up the ghost, i.e., refused to recharge.  So I did take a couple of pics for inspiration later.  It is the “less rainy season” there, and for sure, it was a little dry around the country.  Seems everyone is getting strange weather nowadays.

So here are some pics of a new bird that showed up in my garden this year.  It is the Black Cowled Oriole, really a pair of them checking out our heliconia.  In my bird book, these birds are expanding their range, something quite different, when you think about all the other habitats being spoiled.  They were quite brilliant to see – you couldn’t miss them swaying in the wind.

Image

Image

Image

Then my usual suspects, the kiskadees, at my back yard smorgasbord.

Image

My orchids were in bloom by my front door and in the back yard.

Image

Now that is definitely “Radiant Orchid”!!

ImageImage

The old Poro tree has started to bloom, and the coffee plants aren’t far behind.  Their  blooms are white and fragrant.  I wish someone would bottle that fragrance.

Image

Here’s the shot I took of our South View.

Image

Image

And here’s a shot of my husband’s new Aeroponic Farm, with romaine, green leaf and bronze lettuce, green onions, arugula, cilantro,  and basil.

Image

Image

.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

