jump to navigation

Resolution #1: Make Room for Clothes by Painful Purging of Closet and Drawers January 4, 2014

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

It is a new and fresh year – time for my first resolution of the year: to clean out the closets and drawers and make the big donation to Goodwill.  Clothes include: gowns with jackets, coats, pants, tops, sweaters, a huge cache of silks scarves, nightwear, shoes and any other sort of sundry stuff.  It is all really good stuff, but my closet rods were complaining of the weight, and my drawers are all so stuffed that it was hard to close them.

So out with the kinda new stuff – now everything fits in its assigned space and I don’t have a pile of clothes at the foot of my bed awaiting the big squeeze to fit in a drawer that is already full.

By now, a few years into my retirement life, I pretty much know what I will be wearing from day to day, teaching at seminars, travelling, etc.  When I work at The Artist’s Studio one day a month, I have a special group of “Shop Girl” wear, and of course, I need to keep a few special occasion items for whatever may come.  I know I have too many choices, but it is just so nice to “have” them, right?  So the decisions I make when deciding if I am going to allow this, say, top, in my available drawer space is:

1) does it fit?

2) does it look good on me or contribute positively to my overall appearance?

3) is it necessary to complete an outfit that I am keeping, such as a matching top to a pant suit?

4) does it have sentimental value, such as my grandmother made it for me to keep?

5) have I worn it within the last year when I decided to keep space for it last time?

A lot of items failed that final test – the dreaded question 5.  Nothing in the Question 4 category this time, thank goodness.

So, we line them up, photograph them, document them on a list for tax purposes, bag everything.  Tomorrow we will toss them into the car and head out to Goodwill.

I always feel so good when its done, but it is not for the faint of heart.  Some brand new things were in there with the price tags still on them.  That would be the category –  WHAT WAS I THINKING!!!

Comments»

1. Mary Still - January 4, 2014

Oh, I so understand this dilema. I was going to go to a favorite clothing store today as they have a sale the first weekend of every month but I said, no, you aren’t wearing all that you already have so you are not allowed to go! It was a difficult decision to make but I am proud that I made it! Congratulations to you for going thru and purging of that which you no longer wear. AND Happy New Year!

myblueheavenknits - January 4, 2014

Happy New Year to you, Mary. Yes, I have no excess of clothes now, but the closet and drawers are full still. That will make me head the other way when I think I need more clothes. It has come to this – for everything I bring in, I have to take something out. Good philosophy for me to follow.

2. Juanita - January 4, 2014

I too am working on the project. Thanks for another nudge to work
at it.

myblueheavenknits - January 4, 2014

Hi there Juanita. I know that you are getting hit with some bad weather. Maybe some folks would love to have your cast offs to keep warm up there, so get moving, girl! Times a wasting.


Leave a Reply

