jump to navigation

New Way To Do Ripple Top – Make It A Dress! April 18, 2013

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

Entrelac Dress

I know many people don’t wear dresses every day anymore, preferring pants for work or play. But isn’t it nice to put on a dress when you are going out for an occasion? I didn’t have any dresses in my patterns, until now. And if you already have my “Ripple Top”, you are 99% there.

I just finished this dress made from the “Ripple Top” pattern, pictured above.

To make the top into the dress, I just added 100 more rows of knitting to the number stated for the body of the top. That’s it! You will have a beautiful figure hugging dress with just a little more knitting. Also, you don’t have to do the sleeves, it is an option in the pattern if you want to add them before you seam up the sides.

OK? So easy, peasy. Just think of this in a dramatic Black! Show stopper. I am also going to look for yarn to do a wedding dress, adding some pearl and lace embellishments. This would be very nice under a jacket for work. Gosh, I have so many ideas – I have to go get knitting!

Comments»

1. Pamela - April 24, 2013

Awesome! I am inspired… something else for me to look forward to learning how to do.

2. Mary - May 5, 2013

Hi, Linda, I’m starting your ripple top dress with Dazzle-2 for my daughter. I have DAK & converting your gauge to Dazzle for my Midgauge machine is a no brainer (5.57st / 7.16r). The body is done & am ready to start the yoke. My question– how many inches or how did you compute how many needles/inches to e-wrap the yoke extension for the shoulder & have enough for the sleeve?
Once I’m finished I will have to baste together, mail back for daughter to try on & she mail back for me to finish, add to the length she desires (started with waste yarn & ravel cord). I will send a photo when it is complete. The copper Dazzle is gorgeous. It will make a stunning evening dress for her.

myblueheavenknits - May 5, 2013

Depending on the size, I measured how big the armhole needed to be and cast those on in sets (divide by 2, half on one side the other half on the other side). I think you can see that the Small size has fewer sets than the 1X-2X size, which when cast on is the limit of the Bulky Bed, 114 sts. You can also look at “Adding The Sleeve” and how many stitches for each size I have across the front and back yokes, plus the gusset under the arm.

3. Mary - May 22, 2013

Another question…I knit the pattern up, converting the gauge with DAK. My daughter normally wears medium (8-10) depending on the garment. She finds the hips too form fitting (your medium size–her hips are 40″), the waist & bodice she is happy with. Did you plan negative ease for the hips? If so, how much? The Dazzle has knit up beautifully. I wouldn’t have a problem with doing a little shaping to get back to the # of sts I used from the waist up if I need to do something different for the hips. Thank you,
Mary

myblueheavenknits - May 22, 2013

The pattern is knit straight up from the hem. There is about 1″ of negative ease on each of the front and back pieces because the knit fabric will stretch. If she didn’t like that look, I think you could add what she needs starting at the hem and knit straight to the 40″ hip and then decrease as you go towards the bust.

4. Mary - May 23, 2013

Thank you. I think her dress is 3.5″ smaller….a little much. So I’ll make less negative ease. I’m so excited. The Dazzle knit up so beautifully.
Mary

Mary Kint - August 24, 2013

My daughter finally sent photos of her in her dress. She’ll also be modeling it @ Newtons in Sept. I’ll send you the photos if you’ll tell me where to email them. I’m happy with her fit. The sleeves were supposed to be 3/4. But getting it exact was difficult due to our being on the opposite sides of the USA. I posted the photos on Ravelry….

myblueheavenknits - August 25, 2013

That is fabulous and I would love to post the picture. You can send to my global email address: lindasuejensen@gmail.com

I am in Costa Rica right now, but I will be at Newton’s Fall festival too. Would love to see it in the fashion show on Saturday of the seminar.

Linda

5. Wendy - June 9, 2013

Superb site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any user discussion
forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Appreciate it!

myblueheavenknits - June 9, 2013

I would recommend KnittingParadise.com. You can join for free and there are many groups there where you can start topics that you have an interest in getting info on and also sharing pictures of your completed projects. I check it every morning and get new ideas.

6. Mary Kint - August 24, 2013

Linda, my daughter finally sent me some photos of her wearing the Ripple dress. I would like to send you the photos. I posted them on Ravelry. She is flying out to attend Newtons Fall seminar & will bring the dress to model in the fashion show. I have a better camera & plan to take pictures with better resolution. I’m pleased with how it turned out. The sleeves are longer than 3/4 length which was intended, but living on opposite sides of the USA made getting it exact a little difficult. If you want me to send you photos, let me know the email address.
Mary


Leave a Reply

