jump to navigation

Didn’t We Have A Blast At Purls Of Joy? May 1, 2012

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

Here’s a big shout out to all my Peeps in the Upper Midwest who attended the Purls of Joy Machine Knitting Seminar.  Front Row Celebs did a great job keeping me from running out of yarn, being my models and letting me know when the camera was right on target.  Now, those of  you who didn’t attend, you really missed a great seminar.  All the dealers near and far came to show off their wares and I had some great new patterns that even my local Peeps couldn’t get from me.  My husband was a great “fixer”, working all the multimedia and with Cindy, Dorothy and Diana running the show, everything came off without a hitch.  Hey, there’s a bunch of really good cooks up there too.  Here’s some pics:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ladies (and gentlemen), thank you so much for inviting me to spend some fun time knitting with and for you.  It does my heart good to know there are many young and young at heart machine knitters out there.

I think you all noticed that I use great sayings to illustrate a situation as I knit.  Here are a few of my faves:

1.  Don’t expect a harvest if you can’t take the weight of the plow. Anon – or more poetically,

But he that dare not grasp the thorn, should never crave the rose.  Anne Bronte

2.  Where the road bends abruptly, take shorter steps.  Earnest Bramah

3.  Opportunities are usually disguised as hard work, so most people don’t recognize them.  Ann Landers

4.  No snowflake in an avalanche ever feels responsible.  Stanislaus Lezczynski

5.  If you want to test your memory, try to recall what you were worrying about a year ago today.  Rotarian

6.  Hard work spotlights the character of people: some turn up their sleeves, some turn up their noses and some don’t turn up at all.   Sam Ewing

7.  What we hope ever to do with ease, we must learn first to do with diligence.  Samual Johnson

8.  One often meets his destiny on the road he takes to avoid it.  French Proverb

9.  The really happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery on a detour.  Anon

10.   When you want to test the depth of a stream, do not use both feet.  Chinese Proverb

And of course the one I used in my class:

11.  The best fertilizer is the gardener’s shadow.  Chinese Proverb

Comments»

1. Juanita Peterson - May 1, 2012

It was a wonderful seminar and I was privileged, serendipity at work, to eat lunch with Linda. I found her an interesting person and have since gotten into her web site. I was dismayed to find a ruffled scarf was for the bulky, but EON might work. But the many thoughts I came away with encourage me to try something new. Since I have been to Costa Rica twice, I can see how Linda could find a second home there.
Thanks, Juanita

myblueheavenknits - May 1, 2012

Yes, Every other needle on the standard machine for sport and lace weight yarns will work just fine I think for the ruffled scarf, but the JoAnn’s boucle might be too tender and loopy to knit on the smaller needles. Thanks for the comment and keep trying new things. You never know what a series of unfortunate events might bring – maybe something wonderful. Remember, three left turns equals one right turn.


Leave a Reply

