jump to navigation

Grandma Erickson’s Apple Cobbler Recipe! August 25, 2011

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

Grandma Erickson’s Very Own Apple Cobbler

Grandma Inez never used measuring cups, spoons, etc. Her amazing pies, cakes, and desserts were all by “feel”, pouring out flour, sugar and other ingredients into her hand, then mixed up in her large ceramic bowl.  I was a little girl when I went to her house to stay for a couple of weeks in the summer and watched her make many delicious things, so what I recall is that she would add this and that until it looked and felt right.  But lucky for us, this recipe was written down with regular measuring devices so we can make it in our kitchens.  My sister, Myla, found this one in a book and gave it to me and others, but I wanted to catalog it permanently here for you to enjoy.

Let me know how you liked it.

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

To Prepare Apples, combine:

¾ cup sugar

2 Tbls. flour

½ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp salt

Mix with 5 cups peeled, sliced apples.  Put in large baking pan.  Sprinkle with ¼ cup water.  Dot with 1 Tbls butter.  Cover with foil and bake for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare topping by sifting together:

1 cup flour

1 Tbls sugar

1 ½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

Cut in 3 Tbls shortening; stir in ½ cup milk.

Drop by spoonfuls on hot apples.

Bake uncovered 25 to 35 minutes.  Serve hot with ice cream, heavy cream or
whipped cream.

Makes 6 servings.

Comments»

1. Janet Price - August 26, 2011

Which type of apples did she use? Granny Smith’s? This is a good time of year to make it with all of the apples available. Thanks so much for sharing.

-Janet

myblueheavenknits - August 26, 2011

The recipe did not say. Grandma Inez was born right after the Civil War and lived almost 100 years (3 months shy) and they weren’t too picky back then. She would use whatever was available, but I would say use a cooking type apple instead of a eating apple would be best. Granny Smith would be a good choice or maybe a Gala.

Thanks for the comment!!

2. Janet Price - August 26, 2011

I have company that is now at the beach. I thought I would make this tonight. Just wondering, how many does it feed? Do I use a 9×13 pan?
I have three 9×13 pans. So I am off to Costco to buy some yummy baking apples & ice cream. I will let you know how it turns out. Thanks again.
-Janet

myblueheavenknits - August 27, 2011

The recipe said it makes six servings. I think the 9X13 should do nicely, depending on how big those 5 apples are.


Leave a Reply

