jump to navigation

Studio 860/KE-100 Hook Up October 29, 2010

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

860 Handle From The Side860 From The Back

I got a question regarding my Dream Studio set-up and I thought I would post these close up pictures.  This is the electronic Studio 860 with Ribber on the Brother KE-100 power drive unit.  I got the hard wood handle (I think it was Maple wood) on EBay a couple of years ago before I had the power drive unit.  I believe someone hand-made it, but I haven’t seen any more over EBay, so I guess I was very lucky to get it.  Anyway, it works just fine for me, so if someone wanted to make one, here are the pictures.  It attaches to the carriage with long screws and has the long, thick peg in the back to fit into the KE-100 coupler.

View From the Back

Happy Knitting!

Comments»

1. Pam - November 1, 2010

Thank you so much for the pictures. I would like to have the same set up and will try to make the wood handle. When using the KE-100 Do you use the tension mast made for the unit which stops the machine when there is a knot in the yarn or you run out of yarn)?
Thank you again.
Pam

myblueheavenknits - November 1, 2010

I didn’t use the 860 tension mast. I bought a Brother tension mast and fitted it with the power drive top unit which stops the knots. When you’re a machine knitter, you have to be part mechanic too, don’t you think? You can’t run the power drive/main bed/ribber with very heavy yarn, though. It does nicely with sport weight or fingering. I did a beautiful ribbed scarf with Newton’s Cotton Ice which is Cotton/Rayon blend. You just have to experiment, tweek the tensions, run a few rows, tweek it again, until you get it perfect. Without the 860 tension mast with its curly cord, it wont do patterning of course off the computer driven EC-1 or PE-1. I have so many machines that I have neglected to learn everything there is about the 860 as I have it set up. It takes alot of time, TLC and patience – I have everything but time right now, so maybe in the Spring I can devote more of that precious element to learning more about this beauty.

2. Pam - November 3, 2010

You are right, You do have to be a mechanic and some what of an inventor. I look forward to you posts.
Pam

3. Pam - November 29, 2010

Thank you agian for the pictures. My husband made a handle and I used it with the 860 carriage & DAK
interactive knitting to make a tuck prayer shawl. The computer and the motor drive worked well togather.Thanks again
Pam

myblueheavenknits - November 30, 2010

Wow! That is so great, maybe other owners of the Studio machines can also “Power Up”! Glad to be of service.


Leave a Reply

