jump to navigation

My Dream Studio…Ready And Waiting… August 17, 2010

Posted by myblueheavenknits in Uncategorized.
trackback

My Blue Heaven Knits Studio

Here’s my new knitting/embroidery/sewing studio just completed after months of moving, sorting, downsizing and organizing.  It was a lot of work, but nothing worthwhile was ever easy, right?  My husband got his digital camera out and took these pictures today and it was a beautiful day in LA, sunny, not too hot, cool breeze, hummingbirds swooping, and all was peaceful and calm in the world.

Actually, we converted our two-car garage to this studio many years ago, finishing the inside walls, putting up lots of lights overhead, installing two leak-proof, remote-controlled skylights, changing the old pull up garage door with a segmented door with garage door opener, painting everything creamy white and putting in an epoxy speckled floor.  Oh, its just HEAVEN, hence my company name (at the time we re-did the garage, our house was French Country Blue, My Blue Heaven!).  The picture above shows the view looking from the open garage door, out the back to my picture window.  I have a hummingbird feeder back there and its always a hullabaloo going on with many Anna’s (red gorget) and Allen’s (bronze gorget) hummers zipping in and out.  I also feed the squirrels roasted peanuts, the goldfinch thistle seed and the other birds (sparrows, doves, wrens, you name it) regular wild bird seed.  They entertain me all day, so its the least I can do.  Just under the window, I have my sewing machine, serger and embroidery machine (to the right).  Whatever I feel like doing that day, its all waiting for me. 

Bernina Deco 600 with Ott Light and A Rainbow of Threads

Here’s a closeup of my Embroidery Station.  I have a big cabinet with all the software and equipment.  When I was downsizing, I kept all the best fabric to embroider kitchen towels.  This is the easiest way to display the rainbow of thread colors and makes it oh so easy to select your colors.  I bought the thread gallery for the machine, so I pick out all the colors I will be using and line them up sequentially on the gallery.  Such Fun!!

Here’s another view of my knitting machines.

Standard, Mid-Gauge and Bulky Knitting Machines

Normally, I keep them covered to protect from dust and what not, but I removed the covers to get this picture.  There’s the Elna standard gauge, the red and white one on the bottom left.  I did one of my Romantic Nightgowns on it today, in white.  Although I wrote the pattern for the Mid-Gauge, I was able to get the correct gauge using Tension 9 on the Standard machine, something I will have to revise the pattern for since many people have the Standard and not too many have the Mid-Gauge.  

At the top, center, is my Studio 860 with Ribber set up on the Power Drive Unit, the KE 100.   And over to the right in the picture is my big baby, the Brother 260 Bulky also set up on the Power Drive.  I have always dreamed of this configuration, machines in the center ring, materials/yarns on the outside ring, with a pathway all around.  What you don’t see is my blocking station with the professional steamer and an iron and ironing board (I still do aprons, embroidered towels, so I need that iron).  I have 4 dress forms.  Two adjust to any size by dialing in measurements (one is tiny size 2 to 12 and one is extra-large to 3X).  Then I also have one FIXED size Small and one FIXED size 14 for display and taking pictures.  I hand-made that size 14 one in my Senior year at San Diego State University.  It exactly matched my measurements at the time and took hundreds of hours to complete as it is almost completely hand sewn, as a project in my draping class.  I have had it all these years and its in real good shape considering it has travelled across the US and been stored sometimes for years, but I always took care of it, so here it is.  I got a new base for it and its perfect!

All around the edges are metal racks with the other knitting/sewing machines that I am not using at the moment, plus the fabric I kept, yarn to knit up and all the finished goods I have to sell, plus all my craft show hardware to set up my booth, such as canopy, tables, chairs, etc.  The finished goods are all in crates and supported with a special crate dolly that easily moves around if I need to get to something. 

Whew!  it is so wonderful to be done with the studio transition.  I hope to spend many thousands of hours in the coming years in my new “Heaven”.

Keep on knitting!!

Comments»

1. Arlene - August 17, 2010

What a wonderful room with everything you need right at hand. Makes me want to get back to my knitting machines. You should be very happy in there.

myblueheavenknits - August 17, 2010

Thank you so much! It was years in the making, but I am ready to go now. I have a couple of students now, so it makes teaching very pleasant! One potential new student told me today that she just didn’t have room at home to set up one of these babies, although she liked the idea of knitting on one versus hand knitting. I invited her to come over and use mine to see if she did get the knack of machine knitting! Maybe if she really fell in love with it (like I did), she might make room in her house somewhere – never say never!

2. 2010 in review « Myblueheavenknits's Blog - January 2, 2011

[…] My Dream Studio…Ready And Waiting… August 2010 2 comments 5 […]

3. Theresa Bossom McGuire - July 15, 2012

I’ve just completed mk several of your designs and love them and others love them too. thanks for such super designs!

myblueheavenknits - July 16, 2012

You are so welcome! Thanks for the positive vibes!! Remember, everything you do comes back to you ten fold – so right back at ‘ya girl!! Linda

4. Vera - April 9, 2013

Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
A design like yours with a few simple adjustements
would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
Kudos

myblueheavenknits - April 9, 2013

I selected one that was offered as a template from WordPress when I originally started blogging here. It was iconic for My Blue Heaven Knits. They have so many themes to choose from, but this was the most appropriate for my blog at that time. I have stayed with it since then. Thanks for your question and comments!

5. presto electric can opener under cabinet - April 22, 2013

Good info. Lucky me I discovered your website by chance (stumbleupon).
I’ve bookmarked it for later!

6. check it out - May 1, 2013

Just wish to say your article is as surprising.
The clearness on your post is just great and that i
can think you are an expert on this subject.
Well along with your permission allow me to seize
your feed to keep up to date with impending post. Thanks one million and
please carry on the gratifying work.

7. Sewing Studio {Round Up or rooms} - - January 1, 2015

[…] […]

8. Valery Roberts - August 7, 2016

So happy for you. It is fabulous!! I just saw this post today. I just made your Split Personality scarf and enjoyed making it. Keep up the great ideas.
Valery

myblueheavenknits - August 7, 2016

Thank you so much!!


Leave a Reply

